So why Nannying?

In September 2010 I completed University and graduated with an advanced diploma in Paediatric Nursing, you would think the next obvious progression in my career would be  to find employment as a staff nurse. Well in fact I didn’t even explore the idea of finding a staff nurse role, about half way through my final year I had decided that instead of going straight into nursing I would take a gap year and travel round Australia.

So in October 2010 I headed off to Brisbane with a backpack and only £500 to my name. For someone who likes routine and security this was pretty out of  character. After a few months travelling I ended up in Melbourne. It was here money started running low, and no I wasn’t still living off the initial £500 that would have been pretty impressive I had found fruit picking working in Queensland. With money running low I decided I had to find work in Melbourne I applied for live out nanny jobs and quite quickly had interest, I arranged to meet with a mum who had two daughters who were 3 and 5 years old. I can some up this experience in one word….. testing! The mum was highly strung and very demanding, the girls were rude, didn’t listen and had absolutely no respect for me. I could tell after the first day it wasn’t for me but thought I should stick with it and see how it goes. Before I was due to go back to them I received an email asking to change to the following day which I replied to and accepted, I heading to their house on the agreed day and time only to be addressed with confusion as to why I was there and why I hadn’t come the day before. I walked in and saw another nanny looking after the girls so the mum asked me to set the table for a dinner party, well this isn’t really my domain but out of pure desperation for money I thought I would just do it. Whilst cracking on with the table decorating I could see the girls running rings round the nanny and she often shot glances of disbelief at me, I ended up being glad I was asked to decorate the table rather than look after then girls. Needless to say that was the last time I went to their house.

Therefore I was back on the job hunt. I sat in the hostel on Grey Street scouring job ads, I applied to a few but there was one that sounded ideal so I rang the number there was no answer so I left a voicemail message, about a week later I received a call from the family asking what position I had applied for instantly I was like oh no not again what is with families in Melbourne. Anyway we chatted and she sounded lovely so we arranged a time for me to go meet them. When I turned up there were two boys 4 years and 2 years old running round I was instantly welcomed and their youngest was very open and keen to show me his Dora the Explorer doll I immediately relaxed and had a lovely chat to the parents. After a weeks trial the rest is history, I ended up moving in with them for 9 months until my visa expired and I had to return home. Three weeks after starting to work for them the mum had their third son who I looked after from only 5 days old. It was a busy and chaotic household at times but there was no doubt it was always fun and welcoming. I couldn’t have asked for a better family to start off my nannying career with. Nearly 7 years on and I am still very much in contact with them and consider the boys as little brothers who are now 11, nearly 9 and nearly 7 years old. the highlight of my year is my annual visit to see them.

Since then I have worked for three families full time one of which I still work for as a live out nanny and then alongside my last two roles I have worked for two families part time. My current full time family have twin girls who I have nannied for since they were a year old and my part time family has one 10month old little boy who has allowed me to dip back into some of my nursing background so my uni days weren’t a complete waste of time. I will do a post in more detail about what this involves.

So there we have it, that was my route into being a nanny, It wasn’t a career I thought I would end up in but I don’t look back on it and cherish every day as lets face it in nannying no day is the same. Of course there are bad days but those special moments completely make up for that.

Check back for updates, stories, reviews and advise on my experience as a nanny and most importantly the adventures I have as a London Nanny.

x

Leave a comment